The Hunt for November

blogging anime and life

Fall Watch List

So apparently people actually read this blog, so I’ll do my best to keep you guys entertained with tidbits from my life as I enjoy time off from fansubbing. To start this off, here’s what I’m watching this season. Lemme know what you guys think and tell me what you guys think could be good!

Well, this season looks pretty bare for me. I have two shows that I’m watching right now (not counting the continuation of Bakemonogatari), and one that I’m following in my free time.

The first of these is the second season of Darker than BLACK. This show was introduced to me by some of my friends on rizon, and I loved the first season, though I felt it ended pretty abruptly. This second season has not disappointed me at all thusfar, and I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of it.

The other one I’m following seriously is A Certain Scientific Railgun. I liked the “main” series that this was an offshoot of (A Certain Magical Index), despite it’s many faults, and I really feel like this offshoot executes a lot better on the promise that the universe has. It features Mikoto as the protagonist and I feel like her personality (hello, tsundere-chan) is a lot more compelling than either Touma’s or Index’s, who really should have been supporting characters in the first place. The battles thusfar lack the ludicrous amount of dialogue and time-stretching, and I’m really loving the humor (both intented and unintended).

I’m also watching the second season of The Secret of Nogizaka Haruka as a “why not?” anime. I thought the first season was absolutely adorable, and the second one promises to follow in it’s predecessor’s footsteps. Mika is still the best character in the anime, and I really hope the other characters get more depth as time goes on.

I dabbled a bit with Seitokai no Ichizon and Kimi ni Todoke, but ended up dropping it because I realized that for character-driven anime, I really didn’t feel an attachment to any of them.

Anyways, what do you guys think? Am I missing any diamonds in the rough?

November 1, 2009 - Posted by | anime

1 Comment »

  1. Solid picks. I don’t know about Nogizaka Haruka, but Railgun, DtB, Seitokai no Ichizon, and Kimi ni Todoke are all favorites in the review crowd.

    I suspect that Kimi ni Todoke hinges on your ability to empathize with awkwardness, and Seitokai no Ichizon works best if you or someone you know has ever actually wanted to be a harem anime lead.

    Comment by moritheil | December 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

